My (Very) Small Role in Oscar History

Awards Shows, Me, Shameless Self-Promotion

So, I had the TCM-produced doc And the Oscar Goes to… on Netflix today when I was surprised to hear…me!

My cameo comes during a clip of George Clooney‘s Oscar-night press conference for his Best Supporting Actor win for Syriana. You hear an unseen reporter address a question to “Mr. Clooney.” And, yes, ladies and gentlemen, that unseen reporter is…me!

I was covering the press room that night for E!, and I called Clooney “Mr. Clooney” because even if I’d been watching him since The Facts of Life it didn’t feel like we were on a George-name basis.

Clooney was bemused by “Mr. Clooney,” made a crack about how an Academy Award confers insta-respectand a (very) small bit of Oscar history was made.

If you catch me on Netflix, the Clooney clip is at about the 1:30-minute mark. In the above clip, it’s at about the 3-minute mark.